General Duke of Edinburgh Information

A Duke of Edinburgh’s Award is the recognition of a young person’s successful journey of self-discovery and development, renowned by employers and universities alike. Its balanced programme develops the whole person – mind, body and soul, in an environment of social interaction and team working.

You can do programmes at three levels:

  • Bronze (aged 14+) – Years 9/10 (2019-2020)
  • Silver (aged 15+) – Year 11 (2019-2020)
  • Gold (aged 16+) – Year 12 (2019-2020)

You achieve an Award by completing a personal programme of activities in four (five for Gold) sections:

  • Volunteering: undertaking service to individuals or the community.
  • Physical: improving in an area of sport, dance or fitness activities.
  • Skills: developing practical and social skills and personal interests.
  • Expedition: planning, training for and completion of an adventurous journey in the UK or abroad.
  • At Gold level, you must do an additional Residential section, which involves working and staying away from home doing a shared activity.

Programme Dates (2019-2020)

Click on the Images below to view their respective timetables.



Time Scales


bronze copy


Silver copy


Gold-1 copy